The COP presidency rotates between different regions. In 2021, the UK and Italy will jointly host the climate conference and the UK’s Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, Alok Sharma, will be the COP26 President.

Mr Sharma was previously the International Development Secretary and takes over from Claire O’Neill who was Climate Minister under Prime Minister Theresa May and led the government’s work towards setting a net zero target in law.